State of Florida Amends Red Light Camera Law, Appeals Process

Effective July 1, 2013, the State of Florida amended the Mark Wandall Traffic Safety Program to allow motorists to request an administrative hearing to contest red light camera citations. The new law allows the motorist 60 days to pay the $158.00 fine or request a hearing. However, the new law also permits each county to assess additional penalties up to $250.00 if the motorist fails to successfully contest the citation. Motorists seeking to utilize the new appeals process should also consider that they will be unable to retain an attorney to appear on their behalf at the initial hearing stage. For more information, please see the attached link: